Nutrition and Growth Learning Lab (Formerly Feeding Workgroup, FWG)

The goal of the Nutrition and Growth Learning Lab is to work as an interdisciplinary team including dieticians, speech therapists, parents, nurse practitioners, a physician liaison and quality outcomes manager to optimize growth in infants and children with single ventricle heart disease throughout each staged palliation. Our efforts aim to: develop consensus driven recommendations and guidelines for feeding and growth; drive nutrition and feeding research; answer questions and provide a resource for NPC-QIC learning labs and parents; along with maximizing the resources available to provide the opportunity to create safe and quality feeding opportunities for this population and their families.

Nutrition and Growth Learning Lab Phase II 2016:

Name

Location

Email

Discipline

Megan Horsley

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

megan.horsley@cchmc.org              

Dietitian - Chair

Linda Lambert

Primary Children's Medical Center

Linda.Lambert@imail.org

CFNP

Jennifer Fogel

Advocate Hope Children's Hospital

Jennifer.fogel@advocatehealth.com

Speech pathologist Lead

Travis Lewis

Affiliated with Children’s hospital of Pittsburg

lewistrav@yahoo.com

Parent

Frances Kline Woodard

Medical University of South Carolina

klinefl@musc.edu

CPNP

Kristi Fogg

Medical University of South Carolina

fogg@musc.edu

 

Dietitian - Co-Chair

Jessica Linck

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

jessica.linck@cchmc.org

Speech pathologist

Lisa Doody

Advocate Hope Children's Hospital

Lisa.doody@advocatehealth.com

Speech pathologist

Megan Davis

Advocate Hope Children's Hospital

megan.davis@advocatehealth.com

Dietitian

Sarah Prochaska/ Davis

Children's National Medical Center, Washington, D.C.

SProchas@childrensnational.org

Dietitian

Erin Keenan

Boston Children’s Hospital

erin.keenan@childrens.harvard.edu

Dietitian

Lacie Patterson

 

lacieb1323@gmail.com

Parent - Co-Chair

Sharyl Wooton

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital

Sharyl.Wooton@cchmc.org

MSN, RN Quality Outcomes Manager

Garick Hill

Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin

GHill@chw.org

MD

Jenn Fridgen

Seattle Children’s Hospital

jennifer.fridgen@seattlechildrens.org

Physical therapist, DPT, PT, CAS

Chelsea Scaramuzzino
 
 

ChelseaLSelby@gmail.com

Parent

Publications:

  1. Slicker J, Sables-Baus S, Lambert LM, Peterson LE, Woodard FK, Ocampo EC; National Pediatric Cardiology-Quality Improvement Collaborative Feeding Work Group. Perioperative Feeding Approaches in Single Ventricle Infants: A Survey of 46 Centers. Congenit Heart Dis. 2016 Jul 13. doi: 10.1111/chd.12390. [Epub ahead of print] PubMed PMID: 27410425.
  2. Slicker J, Hehir DA, Horsley M, Monczka J, Stern KW, Roman B, Ocampo EC, Flanagan L, Keenan E, Lambert LM, Davis D, Lamonica M, Rollilson N, Heydarian H, Anderson JB. Nutrition Algorithms for Infants with Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome; Birth through the First Interstage Period. Congenit Heart Dis. 2012 Aug 14.

Writing Topic in Progress:  Assessing Feeding Readiness and Safety in Infants with Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome after First Stage Palliation: Manuscript Lead-Frances Woodard CPNP.